

CONSEJO OLEICOLA INTERNACIONAL CONSEIL OLEICOLE INTERNATIONAL CONSIGLIO OLEICOLO INTERNAZIONALE المجلس الدولي للزيتون

Madrid, 22 April 2021

INTERNATIONAL EXTRA VIRGIN OLIVE OIL COMPETITION 2021

MARIO SOLINAS QUALITY AWARD INTERNATIONAL OLIVE COUNCIL

PRIZE WINNERS AND FINALISTS

Some 131 oils were entered into the International Olive Council's Mario Solinas Quality Award 2021, announced in November 2020, with entries from Algeria (6), Argentina (1), Australia (1), China (3), Croatia (1), Greece (4), Italy (3), Jordan (1), Portugal (24), Spain (76), Tunisia (10) and Turkey (1).

Entries were submitted by individual producers, producer associations and packers.

According to the competition rules of November 2020, entries were classified in one of the following categories d the median intensity of their fruitiness:

Section Median of fruitiness Green fruitiness:

Robust	m > 6
Medium	$3 < m \le 6$
Delicate	m < 3

Ripe fruitiness

EVOO from the Southern Hemisphere

A group of panels recognised by the IOC selected the six oils with the highest scores in each category.

The leaders of these panels, who made up the international panel of this year's competition, chose the winners in each category and in accordance with the competition rules. They used an evaluation sheet to score out of 100 the olfactory, gustatory and retronasal sensations as well as the harmony, complexity and persistence of each oil. They also proposed the second and third prizes for each category to the Executive Secretariat.

For the Southern Hemisphere section, no oils placed second or third.



CONSEJO OLEICOLA INTERNACIONAL CONSEIL OLEICOLE INTERNATIONAL CONSIGLIO OLEICOLO INTERNAZIONALE المجلس الدولي للزيتور

WINNERS OF THE 2021 INTERNATIONAL OLIVE COUNCIL MARIO SOLINAS OUALITY AWARD

First prize

Robust green fruitiness Olivar de la Monja, S.L. – Baeza (Jaén) – Spain

Medium green fruitiness S.C.A. San Felipe Apóstol – Baeza (Jaén) – Spain

Delicate green fruitiness Terra Creta Grand S.A. "Terra Creta Grand Cru EVOO" – Chania

(Crete) – Greece

Ripe fruitiness Huilerie Bechir Jarraya – Om El Janna – Mateur – Tunisia

Southern Hemisphere "El Mistol Clásico" Agropicuaria El Mistol S.A. - San Juan –

Argentina

Second prize

Robust green fruitiness Almazaras de la Subbética S.L. – Priego de Córdoba (Córdoba) –

Spain

Medium green fruitiness Entre Caminos Selección / Escalera Álvarez, SAT – La Roda de

Andalucía (Sevilla) – Spain

Delicate green fruitiness Fima Olá – Produtos Alimentares SA – Abrantes (Ribatejo) –

Portugal

Ripe fruitiness Azienda. Agricola Leone Sabino – Canosa Di Puglia (BT) – Italy

Third prize

Robust green fruitiness SCA Ntra. Sra. de los Remedios (Oro de Canava) – Jimena (Jaén) –

Spain

Medium green fruitiness Hispania Food Company XXI, S.L. – Carcabuey (Córdoba) – Spain

<u>Delicate green fruitiness</u> Sovena – Portugal Consumer Goods, S.A. – Algés – Portugal

Ripe fruitiness Agricola Sant Isidre i Secció de Credit – Juncosa (Lleida) – Spain



FINALISTS

Robust green fruitiness:

- 1st Venchipa, S.L. Baeza (Jaén) Ácula (Granada) Spain
- 2nd Sdad. Coop. Olivarera De Valdepeñas "COLIVAL" Valdepeñas (Ciudad Real) Spain
- 3rd Olivapalacios, S.L Almagro (Ciudad Real) Spain

Medium green fruitiness:

- 1st Agriston Kavala Greece
- 2nd Cortijo de Suerte Alta, S.L. Baena (Córdoba) Spain
- 3rd Sociedad Cooperativa Andaluza San Sebastián Guadalcanal (Sevilla) Spain

Delicate green fruitiness:

1st Unilever Fima Lda – Abrantes (Ribatejo) Portugal (Tank located at Victor Guedes-Abrantes – Portugal)

Ripe fruitiness:

- 1st Aceites Canoliva SL Baena (Córdoba) Spain
- 2nd Meray Zeytincilik Tarim Gida Ltd Sti Aydin (Line) Turkey
- 3rd Celso Hernâni Gastalho Madeira Vilar de Amargo Portugal

In accordance with the rules of the competition, all competitors may now unseal the container holding the batch of oil they entered into the competition.

The winners may now display the prize on the labels of the extra virgin olive oil belonging to the same batch as the winning sample. They may now request a special logo from the Executive Secretariat.

The time and place of the prize-giving ceremony will be announced in due course.